Government Of Thelos

The High Council is the ruling body of the Holy City of Thelos. It is made up of 3 High Priests of different priesthoods, elected by the members of all the priesthoods. They serve for a term of 3 years. The High Council oversees the management of the city, and is responsible for the creation and judgment of the Laws that keep the city a holy neutral ground for the kinships.

Order in the city is maintained by the Sacred Blood Templars, or more commonly known as Blood Templars, an order of knights that honors Baridon. While some of them may serve as priests of Baridon, not all of them do. However all of them have taken a sacred blood oath to enforce the laws of the High Council in Thelos. Baridon might disapprove of the Elves' decision to come to Aarandor, but those believing in the god remain fully committed to the value of structure and the punishment of offenses.

The Council Elections take place every 3 years, and it is an important celebration that all kinships are part of. There is a lot of political maneuvering made by those that wish to be elected, with kinships and priesthoods working to ensure their favored candidates are elected. Each priesthood gets three votes, cast by the High Priest, or Acting High Priest/Elder, or a chosen representative of the priesthood in the absence of those. A week long festival takes place during this time, with contests and competitions hosted by the different priesthoods. The last day of the festival is the day of the Vote, and the new members are voted on with an announcement of those elected made by the current members of the High Council.

It should be noted, that High Priests are not allowed to serve two terms in a row. If a High Priest is unable to perform his/her duties as a member of the High Council, then one of the Elders of that priesthood will serve as the Acting High Priest for the remainder of the term. If a High Priest resigns and steps down in the middle of their term, a special election for that open seat takes place and the elected candidate will serve for the remainder of the seat's term, until the next election. Candidates elected during a special election are allowed to run again during the next official election and are the exception to the rule against two consecutive terms.